Democratic logo
Democrats of Greene County, Virginia
(By the Greene County Democratic Committee)

A source of information and inspiration for Democrats
and other progressives in Greene County, Virginia

Home       Recent Activities         How to Get Involved         Why We Are Democrats         Key Issues
Voting Procedures: How to Register; Where to Vote; Election Districts; Elected Officials

Register to Vote

If you are not already registered to vote, you should do so now. To vote in Virginia you need to be registered at least three weeks prior to an election. Once you are Registered you do not need to register again or change your registration unless you change your address or name.

How to Register

Voter registration is easy. You can do it in person by going to the Registrar's Office in Stanardsville, or download an application form and mail it to the Registrar's office. (Or you can register when you renew your driver's license or do other business with the DMV.)

The Greene County Registrar's Office is at 32 Stanard Street in Stanardsville (the street behind the Courthouse - see the map).


Click here to visit the Registrar's website. The Registrar's office is open from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Click here to download an application form to mail to the Registrar's Office.

Changes in Voting Districts

Voting districts in Virginia have been revised to reflect changes in population as shown in the 2010 Census. The revisions changed the voting precinct boundaries in Greene County and a new district / precinct was created, named the Midway District. You should have received a new Voter Card showing where you will vote. If you have not received a new card, contact the Greene County Registrar's office.

Elected Officials in Greene County

Traditionally the elected officials in Greene County have not run on a partisan basis. These positions include the five members of the Board of Supervisors, the Constitutional Officers (Commonwealth Attorney, Sheriff, Treasurer, Clerk of Court, and Commissioner of Revenue), and the five School Board members. For more information on these elected positions, and the expiration dates of current terms, click here.